Esmerine – La Lechuza

Esmerine is an impressive collective of musicians with core members Bruce Cawdron of Godspeed You! Black Emperor and Beckie Foon of Thee Silver Mt. Zion. The album is dedicated to recently deceased musician Lhasa De Sela. Lhasa’s harpist Sarah Page, Patrick Watson and Colin Stetson all contribute to La Lechuza. “Snow Day for Lhasa” is a notable track, featuringWatson’s vocals and an austere harp melody. “Little Streams Make Big Rivers” follows the album’s orchestral theme yet is reflective of Godspeed’s brooding pace and style. “Fish on Land” is a haunting song with Lhasa’s vocals, paced slow with a minimal piano and violin composition. La Lechuza is a wonderful orchestral album. (Constellation, Kyra Leib